First day at school. .. first child

7.30 am

Just sent my three-year old off to school with her father. Wow! What a big step. From the tiny scrap that I gave birth to in 2006 to this walking, talking, laughing, arguing dynamo. She is so precious. Making me run from the lift to the door as she keeps running out of the lift to kiss me goodbye and i anxiously urging her to go back as the minutes tick by and the possibility of her father getting stuck in traffic increase by the second. And she has examinations. Can you handle that? Barely out of nappies and they hand me an examination timetable at the kindergarten she attends.  English, Arabic, Mathematics and Shar’iyyah. Well they do say they are like sponges at this age. She does seem to be learning quite a bit., although half the things she sings at home are unintelligible as she is unable to understand the Arabic words so she mispronounces them. But I am so proud of her. She knows her name starts with a ‘Z’ and she can write the letter as well. She did so unprompted the other day.

Leave a comment